The latest patch update for Ubisoft’s The Division comes bearing problems. At least if you are enjoying this title on the Xbox One.
Several reports from different sources are stating that quite a few players on Microsoft’s Xbox One platform are experiencing a very negative drawback to the latest patch: their characters are being wiped completely. According to the reports, players have logged into their game following the patch installation to find that their characters are no longer accessible.
Patch confusion and losses aren’t anything new. Loss of save data, corrupted game file, glitchy gear – but to lose an entire character is leaving gamers feeling frustrated to say the least. The game came out on March 8th of this year, so that’s a lot of game progress being lost.
Developers Massive announced that they have been looking into the issue caused by this update on an individual basis to see what went wrong.
The official announcement by the UBI Team has been released reporting that the issue is resolved.
“Agents, Some of you reported that their characters went missing after Update 1.1. Our team has identified and fixed the source of this issue to ensure that your characters could be correctly restored. The issue was caused by a malfunctioning server that couldn’t synchronize character data correctly and corrupted them instead. The game client was unable to read this corrupted data, and simply assumed that the character didn’t exist. Once this has been identified, we were able to restore the server to its normal functions, thus ensuring that the issue will no longer occur for other players. For those who experienced the issue: your character is not gone. We are currently working on a fix that should make it available shortly. Implementing this fix will require a server downtime, and we will let you know when we are ready to perform it. Please note however that in order to make your character available, we will need to restore the latest uncorrupted save of your entire account, which happened during the server maintenance of April 12. In other words, your character will be back just as you left it on April 12 at 9am CEST | 3am EDT | 12am PDT. You will lose any progress made on this character or any other one from the same account between April 12 and the next maintenance. We apologize for the inconvenience and want to thank you for your understanding and your help in identifying this issue. The Division Team”