Home Comics The End of an Immortal

The End of an Immortal

written by BckuzRossizDead January 30, 2015

BOTI_2
As a reader of comics and manga, there is this inevitable great, beautiful and saddening moment that happens when a favorite run or series comes to an end.
I have felt this many times as I am sure you have as well.

For me some immediate great title runs come to mind; Samurai Deeper Kyo (38 volumes), Deathnote (12 volumes), Battle Royale (15 Volumes), Grant Morrison and his run of Doom Patrol (6 volumes), and Brian K. Vaughan with his amazing
Y the Last Man (10 volumes).

And now Hiroaki Samura & Dark Horse Comics closes the final curtain on
Blade of the Immortal.

24212
Blade of the Immortal
follows Manji, a rogue samurai who cannot be killed save for a few exceptions. He has extraordinary healing abilities and is a brutal and clever fighter with a somewhat guilty past. Manji begins to take on the blood vendetta of a young woman chasing after the youthful leader of a gang of eccentric ronin known as the Itto Ryu. This tale of vengeance takes on many twists and turns and the beautiful artwork makes the ticket price of each book worth it alone.

This book is steadily exciting and expectedly dark, bloody and moody as it is thought-provoking and entertaining. Blade of the Immortal will wrap in late March, as it is a popular award-winning title I imagine it will remain in print for some time. Still I couldn’t encourage one enough to pick up this masterful supernatural samurai tale—truly it is a cut above your run of the mill manga titles. Fans of Cowboy Bebop, Samurai Champloo, Wolverine, Sin City and Spawn will feel right at home.

This book is special to me and I have been collecting it for years, but I am very thankful for this great book and at a respectful 31 volume run who could complain…it’s been a hell of a ride!

Thank You, Hiroaki Samura and Dark Horse Comics for a brilliant 18 years of my favorite immortal samurai!
35-1


Want more geek?